## WORK SAFE. FOR LIFE. WORKERS' COMPENSATION BOARD OF NOVA SCOTIA

5668 South Street Post Office Box 1150 Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 2Y2 Tel: 902-491-8999 Fax: 902-491-8002 Toll Free: 1-800-870-3331 Internet Address: http://www.wcb.ns.ca



Highlights of the meeting of the Board of Directors of the Workers Compensation Board of Nova Scotia.

Next meeting: June 27, 2012

## At its meeting of May 9<sup>th</sup> 2012 the Workers' Compensation Board of Directors:

- Received and approved a report from the Chair of the Finance and Investment Committee on discussions at the May 9<sup>th</sup> 2012 meeting of the Committee:
  - The Committee reviewed the first draft of the 2013 Operational Plan and Administrative, Legislated Obligations and System Support Budget and the Board accepted the Committee recommendation to authorize staff to prepare the detailed 2013 Operational Plan and Budget based on the proposal presented.
  - The Committee received a presentation on Demographic Trends from Dr. James McNiven, senior Policy Advisor at Canmac Economics.
- Discussed the principles and process for the development of a legislative change agenda
- Received information on the results of a 2011 Service Provider Survey
- Received the regular reports from the Chair and the CEO on activities and developments since the previous Board meeting
- Received a briefing on an appeal decision which impacts the way Automatic Assumption benefits are administered, when workers' lung function improves following reassessment
- Received an update on the Internal Appeals Review Project
- Received an update on the Workplace Safety Strategy and provided input on the Strategy as part of the consultation process for the project

Please note that new and revised Policies are distributed to all Policy Manual holders. The Policy Manual is available at regional public libraries, and is posted on the Workers' Compensation Board of Nova Scotia's website, www.wcb.ns.ca

*Chair* Elaine Sibson

*Deputy Chair* Chris Power Employer Representatives Directors John Amirault Jim Melvin David Thomson Philip Veinotte

Worker Representatives Directors Janet Hazelton John Hugh MacArthur Deborah Ryan Betty Jean Sutherland