WORK SAFE. FOR LIFE.

WORKERS' COMPENSATION BOARD OF NOVA SCOTIA

5668 South Street Post Office Box 1150 Halifax. Nova Scotia B3J 2Y2

Tel: 902-491-8999 Fax: 902-491-8002 Toll Free: 1-800-870-3331 Internet Address: http://www.wcb.ns.ca

Highlights

Highlights of the meeting of the Board of Directors of the Workers Compensation Board of Nova Scotia.

At its meeting on February 25th and 26th, 2016 the Workers' Compensation Board of **Directors:**

- Participated in a workshop on governance of the Business Transformation Advancement Program with Richard Austin (from Deeth, Williams Wall) and the Internal Auditor from KPMG.
- Approved a Subcommittee of the Finance, Audit and Risk Management Committee to provide oversight of the Business Transformation Advancement Program.
- Met in camera to:
 - Receive an update from the Chair and Deputy Chair on the CEO's performance in 2015 and provide input on the CEO's goals for 2016.
 - Receive an update from the Chair and CEO on the Executive Corporate 0 Secretary's performance in 2015 and provide input on the 2016 goals for this position.
 - Receive details of the replacement plans for the CEO, Vice Presidents and Executive Corporate Secretary positions.
- Participated in a tour of the Halifax Irving Shipyards.
- Met with the Executive Director of the Occupational Health and Safety Division at the Department of Labour and Advanced Education and received an update on the work of the Division.
- Met with the Client Relations Officer at the Workers' Compensation Board.
- Discussed a number of governance related topics including the results of the 2015 Board survey and the Board's role in External Outreach for 2016.
- Received an update from the CEO and the Chair on activities and developments since the previous Board meeting.

Please note that new and revised Policies are distributed to all Policy Manual holders. The Policy Manual is available at regional public libraries, and is posted on the Workers' Compensation Board of Nova Scotia's website, www.wcb.ns.ca

Chair Rod Burgar

Deputy Chair Chris Power

Employer Representatives **Directors** Phillip Veinotte Luc Erjavec Angus Bonnyman Duncan Williams

Worker Representatives Directors Janet Hazelton **Betty Jean Sutherland** Jeff Brett