

5668 South Street Post Office Box 1150 Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 2Y2

Highlights

Tel: 902-491-8999 Fax: 902-491-8002 Toll Free: 1-800-870-3331

Internet Address: http://www.wcb.ns.ca

Items scheduled for discussion at the next meeting of the Board of Directors of the Workers' Compensation Board of Nova Scotia.

At its meeting on January 23rd, 2025 the Workers' Compensation Board of Directors:

- Met with Scott Nauss, Senior Executive Director, Safety Branch at the Department of Labour, Skills and Immigration (LSI), and Vanessa Chouinard, Associate Deputy Minister at LSI, to receive an update on priority areas of focus for the Safety Division at LSI in 2025.
- Received the results of the 2024 Board evaluation process.
- Approved the program policy work plan and stakeholder consultation approach for 2025.
- Received an update on upcoming communications and outreach priorities for the WCB Nova Scotia.
- Received highlights of priority areas of focus for human resources at the WCB Nova Scotia in 2025.
- Received an update on the new service model for system impact employers.
- Received an update on presumptive cancers for firefighters. It was agreed that the ongoing annual costs for presumptive cancers will be excluded from rate setting and experience rating at the industry and employer level, as per the approach for occupational diseases under current Policy.
- Received the report from the Chair of the Development and Succession Committee on discussions at the Committee meeting on January 22nd, including the annual update on leadership succession planning.
- Received the regular report from the Chair and CEO on activities and developments since the previous Board meeting.

Please note that new and revised Policies are distributed to all Policy Manual holders. The Policy Manual is available at regional public libraries, and is posted on the Workers' Compensation Board of Nova Scotia's website, www.wcb.ns.ca

Chair Saeed El-Darahali

Deputy Chair Robert Patzelt Employer Representatives
Directors
Steve Ashton
Stacia Baldwin
Angus Bonnyman
Vacant

Worker Representatives
Directors
Jenna Brookfield
Janet Hazelton
Blair Richards
Tim McInnis